Requirements

Anyone charging over $500 for a construction project is required to be licensed!

Requirements for an original contractors license in the state of California:

18 years of age or older
Minimum 4 years experience in construction (some education counts as experience)
Have someone who can sign (certify) that you have experience
Have a social security number
Not owe outstanding child support
Not have any outstanding warrants for your arrest
Not have an “extensive” criminal record
Be in good standing with the Contractors State License Board
Apply for a contractors license
Background check (Live Scan finger print)
Pass the Law and Business exam
Pass the Trade exam (excluded for specialty trades such as prefab, doors, pool cleaning, decking, etc.)
Get bonded through an insurance company
Get workers comp if you’re going to have payroll employees
Pay required state fees
Requirements for an additional classification contractors license in the state of California:
Minimum 4 years experience in the additional classification trade (some education counts as experience)
Have someone who can sign (certify) you have experience
Be in good standing with the Contractors State License Board
Pass the trade exam
Possibly get additional bonding
Pay required state fees
If you think you qualify for a waiver of examination because you’ve had a license in the past or you are a family member of a licensed individual, please contact us for more information.